Amsterdam

amsterdam

So as you might of read I love traveling and exploring new places!

Having recently got back from Amsterdam I thought I’d share some of my best bits and top tips to exploring the city.

We stayed at the NH Collection Barbazon Palace which was pretty pricey but 100% worth it. The bed was the comfiest I’ve ever slept in, we had french doors which looked out onto a river which was beautiful when lit up at night.

Christmas Get Away?

If you’re going for Christmas Markets go after the 18th.πŸŽ„

I went with my boyfriend in December (13th-17th) assuming it was going to be all cute and christmassy. Ha I couldn’t have been more wrong! The markets apparently didn’t start until the 18th whaaaaaaaat is that about?! We’d been to Berlin the previous year and were expecting similar festivities, sipping mulled wine and eating bratwursts… WRONG. Severely disappointed… Until we got a Dutch waffle smothered in Nutella 😍!! As you can imagine my mood was improved after devouring itπŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ. I genuinely thought dutch would embrase it a lot more than they do.


Getting Around.

When booking a holiday I always usually book transfers, I think I must have been being a cheapskate on the day but I didn’t book them this time. The airport train station is huge but amazing, it’s really easy to find your way around and tons cheaper than booking transfers. We got the train direct from the airport to our hotel (we got off at centrum station) which took around 25 minutes and It only cost 4 euros each. Amsterdam is bigger than I anticipated so I’d recomend getting a travel card, you can purchase these from any station, that way you can just jump off and on any trams or buses (It’s pretty easy to get around).


AIRPORT

plane

 

SchipholΒ airport is one of the most beautiful I’ve ever been to, it’s so clean and smells amazing… It’s clearly the little things in life that please me ha! So take some time to have a wander around.

 


FOOD

If you’re going on a bit of a budget you definitely need to find a ‘FEBO’, they’re the perfect cheap lunch! It’s basically a fast food vending machine, don’t judge, it may sound gross but they are mighty fine. I had a ‘kipburger’ (chicken burger… Seriously I could’ve ate at least 10 of them they’re so tasty.)

feebo

Our favourite meal was the least expected at a restaurant called ‘Pasta Bar‘.foodI genuinely have never ate a nicer pasta in my twenty odd years of life! It was 23 euros for 2 mains and a garlic bread, I’ve been trying to recreate it ever since we got back, no luck as of yet πŸ˜’. I can’t recommend it enough!

 


Museumsdevon

There’s so many amazing museums in Amsterdam, the Anne Frank house, Van Gogh but our favourite had to be the sex museum! πŸ˜³πŸ˜‚Β The childish side of me came out and its safe to say we found most of it hilarious. On a more mature note it was really interesting seeing how things have changed throughout time, for less than 10 euros for 2 people it’s definitely worth a visit.

Bars

Last tip is to check out ‘lost in Amsterdam‘ it was our favourite bar there. It’s got such a chilled out vibe, everyone is honestly so friendly. The drinks menu is amazing, there’s tons of amazing cocktails and milkshakes to choose from. My boyfriend ordered a pint of Heineken and was asked if he wanted a big one or small… Looking back a pint is a pintEditπŸ˜‚, he said large and when it came it was bigger than his head!!! If smoking weed is your sort of thing then you can smoke here! My favourite part had to be the 2 super cute cats that live there too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’d love to know others favourite things are about Amsterdam in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Amsterdam

Leave a Reply

